Title page for ETD etd-11082006-085807

Type of Document Dissertation
Author Wei, Mei-Mei
Author's Email Address mwei1@lsu.edu
URN etd-11082006-085807
Title Summary of Lecture Recital: Bright Sheng's Selected Chamber Music for Strings: Two Violin Solos, and Two String Quartets
Degree Doctor of Musical Arts (D.M.A.)
Department Music
Advisory Committee
Advisor Name Title
Kevork Mardirossian Committee Chair
Dennis Parker Committee Member
Julian Shew Committee Member
Marchita Mauck Committee Member
Robert Peck Committee Member
  • string music
  • Bright Sheng
  • Mei-Mei Wei
Date of Defense 2006-10-16
Availability unrestricted
Bright Sheng was born in Shanghai, China, in 1955, and became one of

America’s leading composers in the twentieth-century. Bright Sheng’s orchestral music,

opera and chamber music is frequently performed throughout the world. His musical

language combines Chinese folk music and Western techniques--the meeting of East and


This essay will discuss Bright Sheng’s The Stream Flows for solo violin (1990),

Three Fantasies for Violin and Piano (2006), String Quartet No.3 (1993), and String

Quartet No.4 Silent Tempo (2000). These works represent Sheng’s chamber music for

strings. This essay will be organized as follows: Chapter 1 will provide Bright Sheng’s

biography and compositional style. Chapter 2 will discuss an overview of Chinese folk

music. Chapter 3 is an analysis of Sheng’s The Stream Flows for solo violin. Chapter 4

will introduce Sheng’s Three Fantasies for Violin and Piano. Chapters 5 and 6 will

present Sheng’s String Quartets No.3 and No.4.

  Filename       Size       Approximate Download Time (Hours:Minutes:Seconds) 
 28.8 Modem   56K Modem   ISDN (64 Kb)   ISDN (128 Kb)   Higher-speed Access 
  meimeiweipdf.pdf 4.16 Mb 00:19:16 00:09:54 00:08:40 00:04:20 00:00:22

Browse All Available ETDs by ( Author | Department )

If you have more questions or technical problems, please Contact LSU-ETD Support.