Title page for ETD etd-06102004-124306

Type of Document Master's Thesis
Author Hellums, III, James White
URN etd-06102004-124306
Title Symphony No.1 - A Symphony of the Christ
Degree Master of Music (M.M.)
Department Music
Advisory Committee
Advisor Name Title
Dinos Constantinides Committee Chair
Stephen D. Beck Committee Member
William F. Grimes Committee Member
  • jesus
  • christ
Date of Defense 2004-05-07
Availability unrestricted
Symphony No. 1- A Symphony of the Christ is, in a general sense, a programmatic orchestral work recounting the life of Christ. This is not to say that every musical device or motive represents something explicitly, rather that the music of each movement suggests the overall mood and feeling of its subject matter. The first movement, subtitled “Christ our God to earth descendeth,” corresponds to Christ’s birth. The second movement, subtitled “Dwelt among men, our example is He,” concerns His life and ministry. The third movement, representing His suffering and crucifixion, is subtitled “See, from His head, His hands, His feet, sorrow and love flow mingled down.” The fourth movement, subtitled “Christ is risen! He meets our eyes: Savior, teach us so to rise,” corresponds to His resurrection. All of these subtitles were selected from hymnody.

The work contains both traditional as well as modern compositional devices. Such techniques as planing, parallelism, unresolved dissonance, abrupt metrical shifts, and cluster chords are employed. Juxtaposed with these modern devices are traditional hymn tunes, which help to evoke the particular mood of the respective movements.

  Filename       Size       Approximate Download Time (Hours:Minutes:Seconds) 
 28.8 Modem   56K Modem   ISDN (64 Kb)   ISDN (128 Kb)   Higher-speed Access 
  Hellums_III_thesis.pdf 2.03 Mb 00:09:23 00:04:49 00:04:13 00:02:06 00:00:10

Browse All Available ETDs by ( Author | Department )

If you have questions or technical problems, please Contact LSU-ETD Support.