Title page for ETD etd-04072004-102821

Type of Document Dissertation
Author De Oliveira, Liduino Jose Pitombeira
Author's Email Address ldeoli1@lsu.edu
URN etd-04072004-102821
Title An Original Composition, Concerto for Piano and Orchestra, and an Analysis of Camargo Guarnieri's Concerto No. 5 Para Piano E Orquestra
Degree Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.)
Department Music
Advisory Committee
Advisor Name Title
Dinos Constantinides Committee Chair
Cornelia Yarbrough Committee Member
Jeffrey Perry Committee Member
William Grimes Committee Member
Jan Hinson Dean's Representative
  • piano concerto
  • camargo guarnieri
  • brazilian nationalism
  • brazilian music
Date of Defense 2004-03-24
Availability unrestricted
This dissertation is in two parts. The first part is an original composition, "Concerto for Piano and Orchestra." The second part is an analysis of Brazilian composer Camargo Guarnieri's "Concerto No. 5 para Piano e Orquestra." I chose to analyze this work by Guarnieri because I am also a native from Brazil and I believe he is one of the most outstanding composers of the twentieth century. His wonderful mastery of both modern and traditional techniques of composition, the blending of these techniques with genuine folk and popular sonorities of his native culture, and a disciplined life entirely dedicated to compose, perform, conduct, and teach music are a bright inspiration to composers inside and outside Brazil.

"Concerto for Piano and Orchestra" is in three movements, with three piano cadenzas. The first movement, titled "Dialectics," is in sonata allegro form and moderately fast. The central idea of this movement is the conflict between tonality and dodecaphonism. After being introduced in the exposition, the thematic groups fight during the development, and interchange their roles in the recapitulation, i.e., what is tonal becomes twelve-tone and vice-versa. The second movement, titled "Memories of Sarati," is a tribute to the place where Camargo Guarnieri spent most of his life composing and teaching. It is slow and uses graphic notation along with traditional notation. The third movement, titled "Finale," is fast and inspired by Brazilian folk and popular music.

In the second part of the dissertation, the three movements of Camargo Guarnieri's "Concerto No. 5 para Piano e Orquestra" are analyzed with respect to formal design and harmonic language. In order to accomplish this latter, a system of classification of sonorities is provided in the first chapter along with historical and biographical information. In chapters two, three, and four the three movements of Guarnieri's work are analyzed in detail.Chapter five provides a summary of the analysis.

  Filename       Size       Approximate Download Time (Hours:Minutes:Seconds) 
 28.8 Modem   56K Modem   ISDN (64 Kb)   ISDN (128 Kb)   Higher-speed Access 
  De_Oliveira_dis.pdf 8.93 Mb 00:41:19 00:21:15 00:18:35 00:09:17 00:00:47

Browse All Available ETDs by ( Author | Department )

If you have questions or technical problems, please Contact LSU-ETD Support.