Title page for ETD etd-04012006-150124

Type of Document Dissertation
Author Allen, Christine Burczyk
Author's Email Address cburczykallen@hotmail.com
URN etd-04012006-150124
Title The Solo Piano Music of Andrzej Dutkiewicz
Degree Doctor of Musical Arts (D.M.A.)
Department Music
Advisory Committee
Advisor Name Title
Willis Delony Committee Chair
Jeffrey Perry Committee Member
Michael Gurt Committee Member
Victoria Johnson Committee Member
David Culbert Dean's Representative
  • polish piano music
  • twentieth century polish composers
Date of Defense 2006-03-13
Availability unrestricted
This purpose of this study was to examine the solo piano compositions of Polish composer and pianist, Andrzej Dutkiewicz (1942- ). These works include Toccatina (1969), Suite for Piano (1970), Three Sketches in Retrospect (1985), and -la (1986). Although his compositions have been performed in festivals and concerts, there has been little written about his works. This is the first academic research presented by an American scholar.

This monograph is divided into three chapters as follows: Chapter One includes background and biographical information on Dutkiewicz; Chapter Two presents a comprehensive analysis of -la from an analytical and stylistic perspective; Chapter Three focuses on Toccatina, Suite for Piano, and Three Sketches in Retrospect; Chapter Four offers a brief conclusion.

Due to the fact that -la is Dutkiewicz's sole unpublished composition, an edition is included in Appendix A. This edition was made with the permission and supervision of the composer.

  Filename       Size       Approximate Download Time (Hours:Minutes:Seconds) 
 28.8 Modem   56K Modem   ISDN (64 Kb)   ISDN (128 Kb)   Higher-speed Access 
  Allen_dis.pdf 12.96 Mb 00:59:58 00:30:50 00:26:59 00:13:29 00:01:09

Browse All Available ETDs by ( Author | Department )

If you have questions or technical problems, please Contact LSU-ETD Support.